55°FOvercastFull Forecast

Lee County Board has six new members

Four Democrats on 24-member board

Published: Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2012 1:15 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2012 1:31 a.m. CDT

DIXON – Lee County has six new county board members.

Democrat Rick Ketchum secured another term in District 1, which had only six candidates run for its six seats.

Although only four of the board’s 24 members will be Democrats, Ketchum said he believes members will work together to find new revenue for the county. That task, he said, will be the board’s priority.

“I think it’s going to be slow gains, slow movement,” he said. “I think the county’s in good shape financially, but our revenue stream is starting to stagnate and we need to generate more revenue to keep the county viable.”

The other winners were Republican incumbents Marilyn Shippert, David Gusse, Ann Taylor and Vernon Gottel; and Democratic newcomer Wesley Morrissey.

In District 2, eight candidates were competing for six seats after Franklin Grove Village President Bob Logan dropped out but remained on the ballot.

Winners were incumbent Republicans Judy Truckenbrod, Gerald Leffelman, John Nicholson, and Richard Binder, and newcomers Allyn Buhrow, a Republican, and Democrat Kasey Considine.

They defeated Democrat challengers Frances Mitchell and Roseann Para.

Republican John Schrauth was the only candidate not to secure a seat in the seven-way race for District 3.

The winners were Democrat incumbent Isaac Mercer, Republican incumbents Gregory Witzleb, Steven Kitzman, Arlan McClain and Bernie Buckley, and GOP newcomer Thomas Kitson.

In District 4, Republicans incumbents James Wentling, Dave Chandler; Bill Palen and Marvin Williams retained their seats, and Robert Gibler and Tim Deem won spots.

Democrat Scott Setchell was defeated.

The results

District 1 winners: Marilyn Shippert, David C. Gusse, Ann C. Taylor, Vernon H. Gottel, Rick Ketchum, Wesley C. Morrissey

District 2 winners: Judy Truckenbrod, Gerald Leffelman, John Nicholson, Richard Binder, Allyn Buhrow, Kasey D. Considine

District 3 winners: Gregory L. Witzleb Sr., Thomas R. Kitson, Steven Kitzman, Arlan L. McClain, Bernie Buckley, Isaac Mercer

District 4 winners: James L. Wentling, Dave Chandler, Bill Palen, Marvin V. Williams, Robert 'Bob' Gibler, Tim Deem

n For complete results, see page A7

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion