41°FRainFull Forecast

Boys cross country: SVM scouts boys state meet

Published: Friday, Nov. 2, 2012 12:29 a.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, Nov. 4, 2013 6:27 p.m. CDT

Class 1A

When: 10 a.m. Saturday

Where: Detweiller Park, Peoria

Teams: Alleman, Byron, Chicago Latin, Metro-East Lutheran, Elmwood, Freeburg, Herrin, Johnsburg, Monticello, Mt. Zion, Northridge Prep, Ottawa Marquette, Pleasant Plains, Richmond-Burton, Rochester, Salem, Shelbyville, Sparta, Stanford Olympia, St. Thomas More, Tolono Unity, Tremont, Westmont, Winnebago

Local teams: Newman (Bryson Reyes so., Micah Trancoso jr., Alex DeForest sr., Quincy Coomes so., Drew Rosengren so., Riley Morissey sr., Michael Farringer sr.)

Local individuals: Brandt Cole, Rock Falls sr.; Ryan Taylor, Bureau Valley jr.

Top 5 returning runners: Grant Nykaza, Beecher sr.; Blake Hale, Robinson sr.; Jesse Hahne, Danville Schlarman sr.; Austin Ackman, Havana sr.; Ethan Adlfinger, Alleman sr.

2011 top three teams: 1. Mt. Zion 76; 2. Tolono Unity 88; 3. Monticello 122

2011 individual top three: 1. Steve Schroeder, Monticello sr. (14:28); 2. Nykaza (14:37); 3. Jake Brown, Mt. Zion sr. (14:58)

FYI: Cole is the local with the best shot to make some noise; he placed 27th last year and 64th in 2010, when the Rockets placed 13th as a team. … Taylor was 63rd last year, his first at state. … None of the Newman runners made state last year, but DeForest was on the 12-runner roster during the Comets’ 2009 title campaign.

Class 2A

When: Noon Saturday

Where: Detweiller Park, Peoria

Teams: Aurora Central Catholic, Belvidere North, Carbondale, Charleston, Chatham Glenwood, Chicago Jones, Chicago Mather, Crystal Lake Central, Deerfield, Fenton, Glenbard South, Illiana Christian, Kaneland, Mahomet-Seymour, Metamora, Niles Notre Dame, Peoria Notre Dame, Pontiac, Springfield, St. Francis, St. Viator, U-High, United Township, Yorkville

Local teams: Dixon (Simon Thorpe jr., Cody Sondgeroth jr., Roy Hummel sr., Skylar Mitchell jr., Austin Trevino, Evan Grady so., Kylian Lally jr.)

Top 5 returning runners: Tyler Yunk, Belvidere North sr.; Riley McInerney, Charleston sr.; John Wold, Glenbard South jr.; Alex Baker, Crystal Lake Central sr.; Jamison Dale, Chicago Jones sr.

2011 top three teams: 1. Belvidere North 110; 2. Glenbard South 128; 3. U-High 173

2011 individual top three: 1. Michael Clevenger, MacArthur sr. (14:26); 2. Yunk (14:32); 3. McInerney (14:40)

FYI: Thorpe, coming off a 14th-place individual showing in his second state meet last year, spearheads a Dixon team with top-three aspirations. He also led the Dukes to a 15th-place team finish in 2010. … Yorkville, which beat Dixon 27-59 at the NIB-12 meet, could contend for the title. ... Belvidere North won the Belvidere Sectional with 47 points to runner-up Dixon’s 95 and has won the last three 2A titles. … Preceding the Blue Thunder’s run, Dixon won the 2008 title, edging North 94-97.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion