36°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Arts festival successful

Published: Saturday, Oct. 27, 2012 1:15 a.m. CDT

GRAND DETOUR – There were many awards given during the Sept. 9 Grand Detour Arts Festival.

Kindergarten through third-grade winners in the student art show are Thane Prodzenski of Paw Paw, judge’s choice; Zoey Tabor of Rochelle, first place; Jayce Smith of Paw Paw, second; Haley Oosterhouse of Fulton, third, and Sam Benson of Paw Paw and Samantha Oosterhouse of Fulton, honorable mention.

Fourth through sixth grade, Taylor Johnson of Byron, judge’s choice; Claretta Kern Lyons of Amboy, first; Kali Dance Humphreys of Paw Paw, second; Calista Kern Lyons of Amboy, third; and Josie Aughenbaugh of Byron and Jayden Valdez of Dixon, honorable mention.

Seventh and eighth grade: Joshua Melvin Ellinor of Fulton, judge’s choice; Kayla Miller of Byron, first; Andrew Robertson of Dixon, second; Kristin Walters of Byron, third; and Emily Zimmerman of Fulton and Sydney Jackson of Byron, honorable mention.

High school: Justin Wilson of Dixon, judge’s choice; Zoe Tabor of Rochelle, best of show; Katie Cover of Dixon, first; Kayla Wilson of Dixon, second; Kathy Joseph of Sterling, third; and Katie Cover and Kayla Sue Peterson of Dixon, honorable mention.

Adult winners are: Rick Cortez of LaGrange Park, Charles Kested best of show; Ken Reif of Berwyn, best oil acrylic painting; Bob Logsdon of Grand Detour, best photography; John Challand of Malta, best 3-D art; Margaret Rogowski of Lockport, best jewelry; Jeanne Rager of Rockford, best watercolor painting; Charles Kerr of Dixon, The Tradition Continues Award; and Navarro Canoe of Rock Island, Winston Murray Memorial Award.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Do you agree with President Trump ordering a missile attack against Syria in the aftermath of Syria’s apparent use of chemical weapons against its own people?
Not sure
No opinion